Are your emails mysteriously deleting from your iPhone or Outlook? Don’t worry, there’s a computer fix for that. That email issue typically means that your emails are set to not remain on its email server. When that happens, the first device (i.e. iPhone or Outlook from a computer) will download the email and remove it from other devices configured for that email account.
Here’s how to stop emails from deleting on their own if you use Outlook and an iPhone:
On your iPhone, you typically do not have to configure anything if you’re having deleting email issues. With the current iOS on your iPhone, your emails are usually set to accept all incoming emails. However, if you’re using an older iOS (iOS 6.0 or earlier) that is found on the iPhone 4s or earlier or if you have an Exchange account configured, you may have to tweak your iPhone settings.
If your iOS is 6.0 or earlier or your iPhone is configured via an Exchange server: Go to Settings for the specific email account. From Mail, Contacts, Calendar settings, tap on the specific account you are having a problem with. Then, tap on the Account tab at the top (usually has your E-Mail address in there also). You should see your server information. Down at the bottom tap on Advanced.
Go to Deleted Messages. You may have “Remove” set to Day. Change Remove to be never, or Week or Month.
On your computer with Outlook 2016,
- Go to->File->Account settings.
- Highlight your current POP3 account and click Change->More settings->Advanced-> make sure to select Leave a copy of messages on the server.
- You can uncheck the box that reads “Remove from server after 14 days” or set it to a limit you prefer. Also, it is a good rule of thumb to check the box, “Remove the server when deleted from ‘Deleted Items.’ There’s no need to keep your email on your iPhone if you intended to delete the email. And vice versa as well.
On your computer with Outlook 2013 / 2010, go to->File->Info->Account Settings->Double-click on the POP3 email account->More Settings->Advanced->Advanced-> make sure to select leave on server. You can uncheck the box that reads “Remove from server after 14 days” or set it to a limit you prefer. Also, it is a good rule of thumb to check the box, “Remove the server when deleted from ‘Deleted Items.’
On your computer with Outlook 2010, go to->File->Options->Advanced->Go to Send/Receive section->Edit->Select your email account->Account Properties->Advanced Tab-> make sure to select leave on server. You can uncheck the box that reads “Remove from server after 14 days” or set it to a limit you prefer. Also, it is a good rule of thumb to check the box, “Remove the server when deleted from ‘Deleted Items.’ This way, everything is synced properly.
Or if you have Outlook 2007, go to-> Tools->Account Settings->Select your email account->Change->More Settings->Advanced->select leave a copy of messages on the server. You can uncheck the box that reads “Remove from server after 14 days” or set it to a limit you prefer. Also, it is a good rule of thumb to check the box, “Remove the server when deleted from ‘Deleted Items.’ This way, your deleted items folder is also the same for your iPhone and computer that has Outlook.
Configuring your Outlook account is the easy way to stop your emails from being removed from your iPhone or Outlook. If you need further help with this, you may contact a local email support specialist.


